Russia is considering to launch EAEU cryptocurrency in response to U.S. sanctions

December 23, 2018
Darya Karatkevich

According to the Russia’s Ministry of Finance (MinFin), creation of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU)-backed digital currency is inevitable due to the United States sanctions, more of which are coming soon. According to MinFin, currencies belonging to the five members of the Eurasian Union, which are Belarus, Kazakhstan, Russia, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan, will take part in the new digital currency.

russia crypto

As deputy finance minister Alexei Moiseev revealed, the announced cryptocurrency project will be most likely built without blockchain platform. Instead, Russian government is considering to go down the same road European Union went before launching euro. For instance, they had European Currency Unit (ECU), which was used by the European community before it was replaced by euro (EUR) back in January 1999.

The idea of a common EAU currency unit is supported not only by the EAU members, but several other countries as well, Russian media reports. However, those countries have yet to be named. The main purpose of creation of the EAU’s own digital currency is to create a secure international payment system that’s not based on the U.S. dollar, therefore, it is anticipated that other countries under U.S. sanctions might potentially join.

Post written by Darya Karatkevich
Darya is a blockchain market observer with 5+ years of experience as an author and editor for major tech blogging platforms. Her fortes are blockchain technologies and solutions, cryptocurrencies and crypto-related regulations.

Related News

XRP Gateway Temporarily Disabled October 11, 2019
Waves Gateway Temporarily Disabled October 09, 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *